Nutella Roly Poly

IMG_0795

I don’t know about you but I don’t think you can beat a good old-fashioned stodgy pudding on a cold, wet, wintry day. Spotted dick, treacle tart or sticky toffee pudding with buckets of custard is simply heaven on a plate. My personal favourite is jam roly poly. It reminds me of school dinners back in the days when you got what you were given whether you liked it or not!

I really fancied making a jam poly this weekend for Sunday pudding but my pain-in-the-posterior son doesn’t like jam so I racked my brains to think of something that would work as well but that he would like. The answer was simple, Nutella!

It was a bit of an experiment, especially since I haven’t made a suet pudding for donkey’s years but I’m pleased to inform that it was bloody gorgeous!

Ingredients:

 

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C /160C fan
  2. Mix a;l the dry ingredients together in a large bowl
  3. Slowly add the cold water until a soft dough is formed.
  4. Knead until smooth then roll into a rectangle , 10 x 8 inch
  5. Spread with the nutella
  6. Roll up from a short end
  7. Place in a lined loaf tin
  8. Bake for 30 minutes.

 IMG_0796

 

Leave a Reply

