A little drop of the black stuff! – Guinness Cake!

My intention with my blog has always been to have some kind of theme or relevance to the time of year. So with St Patrick’s Day fast approaching I was wracking my brain for culinary treats with a celtic edge.  All I could think of was soda bread and colcannon.  So I asked myself what to I think of when I think of Ireland and St Paddy’s day? The answer was drinking far too much Guinness and being thrown around the dance floor in Flanagan’s Irish pub in Liverpool when I was a student! I’ll say no more for fear that my son may read this!

I vaguely remembered reading a recipe for a cake using stout so ploughed through my trusty recipe books and stumbled across Green & Black’s Chocolate Recipe book (the unwrapped version).  This cake is not overly sweet and not particularly chocolately for all the large amount of cocoa and dark chocolate added. It does, however,  taste distinctly of Guinness!

As I have said I cannot take any credit for this recipe although I have altered the method slightly. I also added a mascarpone topping which not only looks aesthetically pleasing but also adds texture and a smoothness to the overall feel of the cake in the mouth.

 Ingredients

 225g softened butter

350g soft dark brown sugar

4 large eggs, beaten

225g plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 bottle of Guinness (the recipe called for 400ml but I used a 300ml bottle and it was fine)

100g cocoa

150g dark chocolate, grated (I use chocolate drops so just blasted them in the food processor of a minute or two)

1 small tub of mascarpone cheese

2 tbsp icing sugar

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees C
  2. Grease and line an 8 inch round deep cake tin.
  3. Pour the Guinness into a glass or jug and allow the head to settle
  4. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy
  5. Gradually add in the beaten eggs
  6. Sift together the flour, raising agents and cocoa then stir in the grated chocolate
  7. Into the butter mixture add a little flour then Guinness
  8. Repeat until everything is combined.
  9. Turn into the prepared tin and bake for  1 – 1.5 hours. You may need to cover with foil partway through the cooking time to prevent the cake from browning.
  10. Allow to cool for 10 mins in the tin then turn out onto a cooling rack and allow to cool completely.
  11. Mix the mascarpone and icing sugar. DO NOT BEAT it as the mixture will become runny
  12. Cover the cake top with a mascarpone head!

 Happy St Patrick’s Day!

 

P.S. I have been reliably informed by my friend, Lal, that the following Nigella Recipe is very good too!

http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/chocolate-guinness-cake-3086

 

4 thoughts on “A little drop of the black stuff! – Guinness Cake!

  1. I got it wrong but it was still excellent, which indicates that this is a robust recipe. The result was an ‘adult’ delight: rich, moist, not over-sweet.

    Mistakes?. I confused the recipe with another and added whipping cream to the cake mix (the other recipe said ‘soured’ cream so I even got that wrong); then I completely forgot the grated dark chocolate; and I probably under-cooked it by 15 minutes. OK, I’m probably an idiot and I am certainly no cook. But everyone’s opinion was that it was brilliant.

    Just one thing, A cake this rich (especially with cream added to the mix) doesn’t need a topping, except for show. And, by the way, I often get recipes wrong but usually find it doesn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

