Heavenly Brownies

Now I’m not a religious person but, since it is Palm Sunday, I thought I would share with you my recipe for the most heavenly of brownies. They are crisp on the outside and gorgeously soft and chewy inside. Absolute chocolate heaven!

My son is an avid brownie fan and this is by far his favourite brownie recipe. Trust me, we have tried a LOT of them! I like this recipe because it is dead simple and very versatile. I often throw in cherries and walnuts but it is entirely up to you.

Ingredients:

190g butter

190g good quality dark chocolate

3 free range eggs, beaten

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

250g caster sugar

120g plain flour

0.5 tsp salt

(100g dried fruit or nuts if you fancy it)

Method:

  1. In a heatproof bowl melt together the chocolate and butter. I do this in my Kenwood Mixer metal bowl which means that nothing is lost on transfer and saves on washing up!
  2. Allow the mixture to cool a little then mix in the beaten eggs and vanilla extract. It is important that the chocolate mixture is not too hot before adding the eggs. You do not want to end up with a bowl of chocolate scrambled eggs! Yuck!
  3. Mix in the flour, sugar and salt until smooth. The salt is important as it stabilises the mixture and adds a depth of flavour to the chocolate. Stir in any fruit or nuts at this stage.
  4. Pour the mixture into a greased and lined 8 inch square tin. Bake in a preheated oven (180 degrees C) for 20-25 mins or until the top has dried out and is a speckled brown colour. Don’t bother doing the skewer test as the center will still be gooey.
  5. Allow to cool completely in the tin then cut into portions. I cut that cake into 9 pudding sized portions but you can easily get 16 snack sized pieces.

If you have a cake sale or a school fund-raiser, this recipe works really well when you double the mixture. For High School teachers it is a really quick and relatively cheap treat (bribe)  for Year 11 pupils.  I promised my class that I would make them brownies when everyone had handed their coursework in. You wouldn’t believe how quickly they completed their work!

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we do!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Heavenly Brownies

Leave a Reply

