Peanut Butter Crispies

As a child in Great Britain,  one of the first cakes that you ever learn to make are chocolate rice crispie cakes. I distinctly remember making them with my Mum when I was little and in turn I have very fond memories of my son standing on a chair in the kitchen up to his elbows in chocolate. I swear he had more chocolate on his face than he managed to get into the cupcake cases!

Marshmallow based crispie cakes are a relatively new concept over here but one that has been embraced wholeheartedly. We love the sweet, sticky treat. My recipe for peanut butter crispies takes that humble treat and transforms it into something that is positively dangerous to have in the house! They call to you from the kitchen, you know! “Eat me!” they say!

Ingredients:

50g butter

180g marshmallows

100g peanut butter

75g rice crispie cereal

Method:

  1. Place the butter and marshmallows into a heavy bottomed saucepan and melt gently over a low heat.
  2. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the peanut butter.
  3. Add the rice crispies and stir until evenly coated.
  4. Pour into a lined 8 inch tin and chill. I find using either a silicone spatula or wearing latex gloves and using my fingers the easiest way to level this sticky concoction.
  5. Once set cut into 16 pieces with a sharp knife.

(I’m sure you could just as easily put this mixture into cupcake cases if you wanted to. )

This is a decidedly more-ish cake but I’m sure you could make it even more so with the addition of glace cherries or salted peanuts. What about a top coat of melted dark chocolate? I quite fancy turning them into peanut butter & jelly treats by sandwiching a layer of jam between two peanut butter crispie layers. How yummy would that be?

One thought on “Peanut Butter Crispies

Leave a Reply

