Oven roasted tomato soup

 

I have, unfortunately, had to have one of wisdom teeth surgically removed this week. So now, I look like I have gone eight rounds with Rocky and I am finding it very difficult to eat . Obviously this will help with the weight loss plan but you need nutrients to help the healing process. Consequently I have made several batches of homemade soup.

When I was little soup always came in a can, usually with Heinz or Campbell’s written on it. Obviously there is nothing wrong with that but homemade is so much better and much more cost-effective. I started making my own soups when I went to university in Liverpool. I shared a flat on Scotland Road with 2 other girls, neither of which could cook so we pooled our resources and I cooked for all of us. That way we all got a decent meal and it kept the cost down too.

This recipe is really one of those sling-it-all-in affairs, the type that either results in absolute brilliance or something even the dogs won’t touch!  In this case, you get a mouthful of summer. It is sunshine on a spoon! Simply gorgeous.

Please forgive my lack of specifics in terms of quantities but it really is a whatever is to hand type of recipe.

Ingredients:

2 supermarket punnets of baby plum tomatoes

1 courgette (zucchini) sliced

1 diced pepper – red, yellow or green, the choice is yours

1 diced red onion

Crème fraiche

1 pint vegetable stock

Olive oil

Salt and pepper.

Sugar

Method:

  • Put a good splash of oil into a roasting dish, add the vegetables and mix. Use your hands to make sure all the vegetables have a coating of oil.
  • Add black pepper then roast in a 200°C /180°Cfan for 25-30 minutes.
  • Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly.
  • Transfer the vegetables into a food processor and blitz until all the vegetables have been mixed. Add enough stock to allow the vegetables to be blended. I used 1 pint but you may prefer a runnier soup so add a little more.
  • Mix in a couple of table spoons of crème fraiche
  • Taste test the soup and season accordingly. I add a bit of sugar to counteract the natural acidity of both the tomatoes and the crème fraiche but you may just prefer salt and pepper.
  • Serve it hot with crusty bread or hot buttered toast! Mmmmm

Enjoy!

Love from

Ali xx

One thought on “Oven roasted tomato soup

Leave a Reply

