Chocolate chip cookies and a poorly whippet

Well, Hello there! I must apologise for my absence of late. It has all been a bit chaotic here at the Cake Doctor’s Surgery. Firstly as I have mentioned before, my son had both legs in plaster in an attempt to stretch him. Then just as I get Ben back on his feet (literally!) one of my whippets broke his back leg! Well, I say broke but really he shattered it!

 

It was a complete accident. We were walking through the woods in our local park, all the dogs were off lead playing and racing each other. When I called them back to me my smaller whippet, Felix, was in front of my muscular, speedier whippet, Ash. If you are unfamiliar with male whippets, they are very boisterous with each other and tend to body barge one another when they are running. This is exactly what happened but unfortunately Ash caught Felix with his shoulder at just the wrong angle and with enough force to break it.

I have to say a huge “Thank You” to a couple of  joggers without whose help I wouldn’t have managed. We were at the top of a hill when this happened and about a 20 minute walk from the car park. The joggers, bless them, took a dog each and let me carry Felix, who had gone into shock and was completely silent and floppy, back to the car. I think I must have been in shock myself because I completely forgot my manners and although I thanked them profusely at then time, I didn’t get their names so that I could thank them formally.

After an hour-long trip from our local vet in North Wales to Nantwich Veterinary Hospital, the marvelous vet, Tom, literally pieced poor Felix’s leg back together. He was in theatre for over 3 hours but was up and walking on his leg the following day! I somehow don’t think he will be going through any airports any time soon!

Needless to say I have spent the past 3 weeks nursing a poorly whippet. He has been a little trooper all be it a little clingy. I literally can’t even go to the bathroom without him howling to come with me. I must explain that Felix is a rescue whippet who came to me just over a year ago in a real state. He was ridiculously underweight, had been living in a cold, dark outhouse and was used for breeding. He had big bald patches all over him and no hair at all on his tail. He has come such a long way since he came to live with us that to see him so poorly was heart breaking.

He has become a bit of a local celebrity, however, and I am constantly stopped in the street, texted or Facebook messaged by people asking how he is. He has even got his own Facebook page now! www.facebook.com/FelixTheBionicDog

It has to be said, at this point, that my son has been an absolute star. He has really stepped up to the mark and pulled his weight in terms of helping out. Not only did he babysit Felix whilst I walked the other two whippets but he got up with me in the night to help me take Felix out for a wee or to give him his medication. Our plans for the summer went completely out the window but Ben did not moan once! As payback Ben had all his favourite meals cooked for him including this recipe for chocolate chip cookies which Ben assures me MUST be eaten warm and MUST be dunked in an ice-cold glass of milk. This recipe is a bastardised version of a Nigella Lawson recipe but it works well and tastes lovely.

Ingredients:

150 g butter, melted

125g soft brown sugar

100g caster sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 whole egg

1 egg yolk

300g self-raising flour

0.5 tsp bicarbonate of soda

325g chocolate chips

Method:

  1. preheat the oven to 170 C/150 C fan oven.
  2. Beat the cooled, melted butter into the sugars
  3. Beat in the vanilla and eggs until the mixture is light and creamy
  4. Mix in the flour and bicarbonate then stir in the chocolate.
  5. Use an ice-cream scoop and drop the mixture onto a parchment paper lined tray. Allow a good 10 cm between each blob to allow for spreading.
  6. Bake for 15-17 min. They will inflate in the oven but will collapse in on themselves on cooling.

These cookies are lovely and crispy on the outside but gorgeous and gooey inside! Yum Yum!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate chip cookies and a poorly whippet

Leave a Reply

