Cheese Scones

 

I think  may have mentioned before that I have had  Love/Hate relationship with homemade scones for years. Well, I loved them but they hated me. That was until I discovered that buttermilk would be my salvation! My  good old fashioned scones have not failed me yet and this is the basis for my cheese scones.

 I don’t think you can beat a good cheese scone; spread with a (un)healthy dollop of butter and served with a bit of ham and pickles! They make a great alternative to butties in the kids’ lunch boxes too!

I think the key to these scones is your choice of cheese. It needs to be a good quality hard cheese such as mature cheddar or Red Leicester. I personally prefer a mixture of the two. If you want to really pack a punch, you could always add a little grated parmesan or pecorino to the other grated cheeses.

I also add a bit of smoked paprika to the dry ingredients. I find it just adds a little depth of flavour to the scone. Cayenne pepper or English mustard powder works well too but can be a bit spicy for some people. You could always add a teaspoon of dried mixed herbs instead or even some finely chopped crispy bacon. Basically, whatever you fancy!

Ingredients:

 500g plain flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

2 tsp cream of tartar

0.5 tsp smoked paprika

125g  butter (cold)

1 egg

275ml buttermilk

150g grated hard cheese

Method:

  1. Preheat an oven to 200◦ C /180 ◦ C fan
  2. Sift the dry ingredients into  mixing bowl
  3. Cut the butter into pieces and rub into the dry ingredients until it resembles breadcrumbs.
  4. Add 100g grated cheese into the mixture.
  5. Add the egg and slowly add the buttermilk until you form a soft dough.
  6. Roll the dough out until it is rough the depth of your index finger (1.5cm ish) and cut out with a 2 inch cutter.
  7. You should make approximately 14 scones.
  8. Brush a little milk on top of each scone and add some of the remaining cheese to each scone
  9. Bake for approximately 12 minutes or until the scones are well risen and golden brown
  10. Transfer to a cooling rack

 

 

One thought on “Cheese Scones

Leave a Reply

