Amaretti biscuits

Amaretti biscuits
Amaretti biscuits

I’m sure I have mentioned on more than one occasion that my big weakness is biscuits. I can take of leave cake and don’t go overboard about chocolate but biscuits! Oh, my goodness! I have no self-control at all.

As a child I only ever got “posh” biscuits at Christmas and that was because Mum was a nurse. As you might expect her ward would be inundated with tins of biscuits for the nurses at Christmas. The ward sister would do a “lucky dip” so the nurses all had a fair chance of getting the expensive biscuits as well as the less expensive. So Mum might come home with a box of chocolate fingers or a really posh box of Marks and Spencer’s Continental biscuits! You can imagine my excitement!

One year, however, she came home with a box of individually wrapped amaretti biscuits. I had never seen them before and was intrigued by them. Unfortunately, one bite and I’ve been hooked on them ever since!

This particular recipe is from The Hairy Bikers’ Big Book of Baking. It is so easy to make but I found that I couldn’t pipe the biscuits as Si and Dave suggest because the dough was simply too stiff so I rolled them into ball instead.  They are crisp on the outside with a slightly soft centre and taste absolutely gorgeous.

Ingredients:

2 large egg whites

200g caster sugar

0.5 tsp almond extract

300g ground almonds

 

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C/ 150C fan (the bikers suggest 190 c/ 170C fan but I found they browned too quickly)
  2. Beat the egg whites with an electric hand mixer
  3. Slowly add the sugar, whisking constantly
  4. Add the almond extract
  5. Fold in the almonds. It will form a stiff dough
  6. Pipe or roll into small balls.
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

