Rocky Road Cheesecake or Ben’s Good-Boy Pie

DSCF5377

Long time, no blog! Life, as usual, has taken over! This particular recipe is the result of having a particularly picky 15-year-old son. I don’t know if your kids are the same but Ben goes through phases of liking food then refusing to touch them! I get fed up of giving food away because Ben has gone off it. A whole chocolate orange fudge cake went to his best friend’s house last week! Needless to say, I am the best as far as Ben’s friends are concerned!

This recipe started life as simply rocky road but then I tinkered with it! I sort of deconstructed it and added cream cheese but shush, don’t tell Ben! If he thought it was cheesecake he wouldn’t eat it! Hence the name Ben’s Good-Boy pie! I told him I would only make it if he was a good little boy  (he is close to 6 foot and towers over me!) and didn’t give me any grief!

This is a very rich dessert but as a little treat after tea, I think it is fine!

Ingredients:

Method:

  1. Combine the crushed biscuits and melted butter then press tightly into an 8 inch loose bottomed Springform tin. Chill until firm.
  2. In a heavy bottomed saucepan melt the butter, chocolate and syrup together.
  3. Turn off the heat and stir in the cream cheese
  4. Pour over the prepared biscuit base.
  5. Top with mini marshmallows. I used a blowtorch to colour them slightly but it is equally nice without doing that.
  6. Place in the fridge and allow to set completely before removing from the tin and serving. Ideally leave the cake overnight.
5 thoughts on “Rocky Road Cheesecake or Ben’s Good-Boy Pie

    1. Definitely! It really is nice! Well Done on the thesis too! I remember writing up my PhD thesis. I seemed to take forever! In the end I produced a thesis and my child all in the same year! OMG, I have been Dr Bushell for 15 years now! That makes me feel so old!

      Enjoy your cheesecake! xx

Leave a Reply

